Do you know a deserving individual in the library field who should be recognized for his/her accomplishments? If so, please nominate him/her for an MPLA Award!!!

The following awards will be given at the 2016 MPLA Joint Conference with the Colorado Association of Libraries in Loveland, Colorado, 20-22 October 2016.

The MPLA Awards Committee is seeking nominees for the following awards:

Carl Gaumer Library Champion Award: To be given to the individual, organization or company whose positive support of the Mountain Plains Library Association is demonstrated by repeated conscientious endeavors towards libraries, library staff, trustees and professional activities.

MPLA Distinguished Service Award: To be given to an MPLA member who has made notable contributions to the library profession or has furthered significant development of libraries in the Mountain Plains region, or has performed exemplary service for an extended period of time. In the case of retired individuals, the nominee may be a past member of MPLA.

MPLA Literary Contribution Award: To be given to an author whose published writings have successfully furthered an understanding and appreciation of the Mountain Plains region. The author need not reside in the region, and the selection may be based on either a single work or a body of works. Published works will be evaluated on the basis of literary worth, readability, and evidence of responsible research.

MPLA Beginning Professional Award: To recognize an MPLA member who, as a librarian/media specialist within the first five years after receiving a library/media masters degree, has made a positive impact on the quality and role of library service. Factors such as innovative programming and planning, use of resources, and special projects will be considered.

MPLA Innovator Award: To recognize an up-and-coming individual(s) or group(s) in the MPLA region for a creative, inventive, trail-blazing project that has significance to the library community.

MPLA Unsung Hero Award:  To be given to any library individual(s) or group(s) in the MPLA region who have worked on a special project that has some significance to a community but which has not been eligible for a library award, or which has for other reasons specified by the nominator not been recognized to the degree that it merits, by any library organization.

Nominations are due by 15 August 2016.

Related Information


Ellen Fockler
Awards, Chair
Fockler Library Consulting
4160 Latigo Drive
Reno, Nevada 89519
P: 775.747.4417
Term ends: Conference 2017


Awards Nomination Form
Award Winners 1976 - Present
MPLA Awards Committee